The 2014 Firefight

WALK ON FIRE? Are you kidding me?

I had heard about this concept well before starting my position with Innovative. And I thought to myself, is this something I could do? Last year was my first time at kickoff, it was a blast but something was missing. It was the huge (make you think twice about what you’re doing) fire I had heard so much about.

I listened to the veteran employees while they talked about walking the fire and hoped in 2014 I’d get the chance to walk the walk. The next thing I did, and in hindsight was probably dumb, but I remember looking at the veteran employees’ feet. Searching for evidence they were terribly mangled and beyond repair from previous fire walks. I didn’t see any side effects… How did they do this? Did we have some secret team of Superheroes with the power to walk on fire?

As a marathon runner, I’m typically on my feet for over 5 hours! My feet keep me going. If I walk on fire will this help me prepare me for my next run? Yes! I think so! Walking on fire will be a personal experience and I won’t be afraid the fire will torch my feet. I’m sure it will be something I never forget. I know I won’t get a MEDAL at the end of the walk but instead I’ll get something much more. Confidence, strength and willpower. A true story of personal strength I can share with my fellow runners. So fire, I’m ready for the challenge to conquer you and look forward to being inspired by my fellow IIDMER’s. Bring it on!

— Carrie Castellanos

Explore posts in the same categories: employees, firewalking, Innovative-IDM

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The 2014 Firefight”


  1. This is the 1000th blog post on the Innovative Behind the Scenes blog. Congratulations (and surprise!) to Carrie. And to think, it all started here:
    https://bloginnovative.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/legendary-lets-get-it-started/


Leave a Reply

