Gene Hosting Hoopla????!!!!

Thinking back on my first day at Innovative IDM makes me chuckle.  I was one of two temps hired to help with collections after the Omron acquisition in 2011.  Some redheaded guy named Gene was training us and said that he just helps out wherever he’s needed.  He used a flip chart and was very knowledgeable as well as personable.

Oddly, the other temp left after a couple of hours.  She must have just needed gas money or something.  After spending some time working with Gene, I asked him what his position was with the company.  When he told me he was president, you can imagine how freaked out I was!  I tried to remain calm while he stuck around and listened to me make collection calls.  That question was a classic case of foot-in-mouth syndrome.

Gene told me that a “meeting” that was held every morning at 8:30 and invited me to join them for the following day.  I was a bit hesitant since I was only temporary, but I went anyway.  I didn’t know what to think about these “Hoopla” meetings, but I kept showing up even though my job was supposed to end any day.

The first Hoopla that comes to mind is when Gene came out in a black wig imitating someone from KISS with the music to boot.  I laughed so hard that I had to cross my legs!  He then asked for a participant from each group to perform their best air guitar. To my surprise, Gina hit the ground on her knees giving it her all!  That’s when I decided, while still a temp, that this was the place I REALLY wanted to work.  Never had I been at a company that liked to have this much fun and act foolish just to start the day off with a good mood.  I am a young 61 and have worked many places.  There is NO better company to work for than Innovative IDM!

— Bobbie Washburn

Explore posts in the same categories: employees, Innovative-IDM

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

