9-11-01 Humble Salute, Many Thanks

9-11-01 Humble Salute, Many Thanks

On Sept. 11, 2001, I was driving into the Dallas office listening to 1080 AM when reports started coming in about the mysterious tragic events unfolding in New York City. It sounded very serious and I needed to see the images that surely would be on TV.

Without a second thought, I turned around and started heading for the nearest store open that time of morning where I could pick up a television, Sam’s Club. While looking at the TV’s in Sam’s with an old Korean War Veteran he quipped, “They have no idea the Bear they just woke up. We’ve been asleep for awhile now.”

As you may recall, things didn’t develop all at once that morning. In fact, I actually made it to the office and watched the first tower fall on that new TV.

Looking back, I’d have to agree with that Korean Vet. It was a wake-up call. Now we just need to make sure we don’t doze off and that my friends, is all our jobs. We are the keepers of our country.

My prayers and sincere gratitude go out to the families whose lives forever changed on 9/11/01 as well as to the many men and women who have volunteered and some cases laid down their lives so that we can take a flight, ride a train or go to the local shopping mall and feel….well, safe.

Here’s a salute to those men and women who have stepped up when necessary and given to our great country all that was asked of them, and in some cases, everything they had to give.

-Gene Gray

Explore posts in the same categories: employees, Innovative-IDM, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “9-11-01 Humble Salute, Many Thanks”


  1. Nice post, Gene. I was sitting in my truck at the corner of Dallas North Tollway and Keller Springs when the attacks began. Beckett Publications sent all employees home at 11 a.m. when it became apparent the US was under attack. The schools also closed early that day so families could be together. I picked up my second grader (now a freshman in college), sat him on the tailgate in the school parking lot, and explained to him that some bad people had done some bad things.

    I think the strangest and most jarring thing I remember is that for several days, there were no airplanes in the air.


Leave a Reply

