Employee suggestion box: Save money on color printing

We were recently reminded to set our printer settings to black and white, since printing in color can be somewhat expensive when it’s really not necessary. That reminder email from management prompted this replay from one of our field service technicians about how to save money at home on your color printing. Thanks Damon!

From: Damon Mills
Sent: Wednesday, August 17, 2011 8:54 AM
To: I-IDM Employees (All)
Subject: RE: Printer Settings

All,

I mentioned this to Todd but I thought I would pass it along to everyone. If you have your own color printer at home then you know how expensive the ink cartridges are. Replacing all the cartridges in my printer (Brother 665CW) would cost me $70! Notice I said “would”.

This website, CSI Inks, offers continuous ink systems for quite a few printers. These are not cartridge “refill” kits. They replace the cartridges and are hooked up to large ink wells for continuous operation. I installed one on my Brother printer, my third printer with continuous ink system, and it works wonderfully. “New” cartridges for my printer come with 15ml of ink at @ $70 for all four. The cost per ml is $1.17. I can buy a complete refill set of inks for my continuous ink system for ~$22 and that is 100ml of ink for EACH color – cost per ml is $0.055. I print full color 8 ½ x 11 at a cost of less than 2 cents – including the paper!

With those kinds of savings, if your printer is not supported then it is worth buying one that is. If you do, I would strongly recommend getting a printer where the ink cartridges do not move with the print head. If you have a supported printer but the ink cartridges move with the print head (as many HP printers do) then I would suggest buying a new printer that does not work that way. I am speaking from experience here – I said my “third” printer!

Hope this helps some of you save some $$$$.

Damon

Explore posts in the same categories: employees

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

