Thank You . . .

I never served, but I thank those who do whenever I can. I thank them at airport lounges and at cab stands. I see them at the State Fair wearing caps designating them from wars 60 years ago and I thank them; I see them at the mall or at baseball games wearing t-shirts or vests mentioning wars 30 years ago and I thank them.

I thank my dad and my uncle. I thank my co-workers at Innovative Automation, Jesse and Gene and Lonnie, and maybe others who have served and I don’t know about it.

A short story: On one of my visits to Pearl Harbor, I saw the park ranger about to drop the American flag at the end of the day. It was near the entrance/exit of the park, and a man wearing a cap designating him as a WWII veteran approached the Ranger.

I was within an earshot as the veteran asked the ranger, “May I help you take down the flag?” To which the park ranger rigidly stood back from the flagpole and sternly said, “No sir you may not. But may I help you take down the flag, sir?” It was the ultimate show of respect from the younger park ranger. And the two finished the job together. — pepper hastings

Explore posts in the same categories: Innovative Automation

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

